

# OBA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF MEMBERS November 17, 2017 Sheraton on the Falls, Niagara Falls, Ontario

## DRAFT MINUTES

## Accepted by the OBA Board of Directors, January 15, 2018

For presentation for approval by Members at the OBA Annual General Meeting, Friday, November 16, 2018

### 1. Call to Order

Jim Coneybeare, OBA President, called the Annual General Meeting of Members to order at 1:10 pm. With more than 100 voting members in attendance, Mr. Coneybeare confirmed there was a Quorum. He enthusiastically welcomed Empire State Honey Producers' Association members to this rare joint meeting.

He noted that due to the shortened program, the Spring Meeting in 2018 may be constituted as a meeting of members at which association business could be conducted.

### 2. Minutes of OBA Annual General Meeting, November 18 & 19, 2016

Draft minutes of previous year's Annual General Meeting of Members, held at the Holiday Inn and Suites Ottawa Kanata, were presented for approval.

Moved by Albert Devries Seconded by Paul Lacelle Carried

3. Nominations Committee Report and Introduction of Nominees for Election to OBA Board of Directors Nominations Committee Chair, Tibor Szabo, reported.

Mr. Szabo introduced the 2016-2017 OBA Board members and thanked them for their significant volunteer contributions to the beekeeping industry in Ontario:

Glen Ackroyd	Paul Lacelle
Steve Bryans	Emily Mills
Jim Coneybeare	Lynn Philp
Tom Congdon	Tibor Szabo
Albert Devries	Bernie Wiehle
Dennis Edell	Jim Wilson
André Flys	

He noted that four board members, whose terms were completed, had agreed to stand for re-election:

Jim Coneybeare Dennis Edell André Flys Tibor Szabo

In addition, one vacant board position was to be filled for the remaining 2-year term, resulting in an election

for five board positions plus one alternate (to be called upon should a board position become vacant in the coming year).

He noted that two nominations had been received in advance of the meeting and posted on the OBA website for:

# Dennis Girard Jennifer Penney

And he explained that due to a delay in delivering the official notice to members of the annual general meeting, that he would allow nominations from the floor.

From the floor, nominated by Randy Seip, was Daryl Seip.

Mr. Szabo then called upon each candidate to the podium to introduce herself or himself to the members. As Dennis Girard was not in attendance, his biography was read to members. Mr. Szabo then noted that Bill Ferguson had agreed to act as Scrutineer and OBA Tech-Transfer Program Specialists, Daniel Borges and Dan Thurston, would collect and count the ballots.

Ballots had been distributed to voting members. Members were instructed to add Daryl Seip's name to the ballot and then invited to vote for up to six candidates. The five candidates with the most votes would be duly elected to the Board. The candidate with the next most votes would be declared an alternate, to be invited to join the board should a seat become vacant at any time in 2018.

# 4. Issues Management and External Relations Committee Report

Committee Chair, Dennis Edell, made a short presentation.

# 5. Resolutions

Resolutions Committee Acting Chair, Glen Ackroyd, presented.

Mr. Ackroyd noted that one resolution had been submitted by the deadline and duly posted on the OBA website. He explained that due to a delay in delivering the official notice to members of the annual general meeting, that he would accept resolutions from the floor. However, there was none.

He then reviewed the wording of the proposed resolution, submitted by Mike Parker and Guy Anderson, for member consideration:

# WHEREAS, Ontario beekeepers in many parts of Ontario experienced a widespread honey crop failure in 2017, and

Whereas more than 80% of commercial beekeepers recently surveyed reported being concerned or very concerned about their beekeeping businesses this year, and

Whereas, it is expected that less than 1 in 5 eligible beekeepers will apply for compensation through existing agricultural support programs, because they are reportedly too expensive to enroll in, too complicated to qualify for, and too difficult to trigger a compensation payment because of the way honey and inventory are valued,

# Be it resolved that the OBA Board of Directors initiate immediate negotiations with agricultural support programs to modify those programs for fair access and realistic compensation criteria. Carried unanimously

## 6. Election

The following members were declared elected:

Jim Coneybeare	Dennis Edell	André Flys	Jennifer Penney	Tibor Szabo
----------------	--------------	------------	-----------------	-------------

Alternate (to be appointed to serve in the event of a vacancy in 2018): Daryl Seip

It was noted that a meeting of the new Board would be convened as soon as possible at which the Officers would be elected. It was also noted that Board members would determine among themselves at a future board meeting which of the five elected candidates would serve for a full 3-year term, and which one would serve the 2-year term.

## 7. Treasurer's Report

Treasurer, Tom Congdon, presented.

The Financial Statement for fiscal year October 1, 2016 – September 30, 2017, prepared by Warren Strutt, CMA, was presented and reviewed by OBA Treasurer, Tom Congdon. He noted that the OBA continues to grow its membership in all three membership categories (Commercial, up 6% over previous year, Small Scale, up 1% year over year, and New / Young, up a noteworthy 10% over previous year), ending the year with 1178 members.

## Motion:

To accept the 2016 – 2017 OBA Financial Statements, as presented. Moved by Tom Congdon Seconded by Julie White

## Motion:

To appoint Warren Strutt, CMA, of Milton, Ontario to again act in the capacity of accountant for 2017 – 2018 to conduct the financial review and statement preparation for the OBA. Moved by Tom Congdon Seconded by Tim Greer Carried

## Motion:

To appoint MacGillivray Chartered Accountants and Business Advisors, to act in the capacity of auditor for 2017 – 2018 to conduct any audits or review engagements, if required. Moved by Tom Congdon Seconded by André Flys Carried

Adjourned: 2:30 pm

Minutes: Lorna Irwin, OBA General Manager **Board Secretary** 

Carried

Subsequently, and at a meeting of the new Board held the next day, the following Board members were elected as officers:

Jim Coneybeare, President André Flys, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President Albert Devries, 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President Tom Congdon, Treasurer

